As we move into winter, for the first time in my life, I don’t feel the excitement and joy that Christmas and the New year usually brings. For the first time, I think of December 6. A day that means nothing to most of the world, and until less than a year ago, it meant nothing to me either.

Being a part of a program that deeply deals with abuse and the effects of abuse, I hear several stories, meet women every day that have in some way been assaulted and often I get so used to hearing these tales that they don’t stand out anymore. But they’re each so different.

So what is December 6 all about?

On December 6, 1989, Marc Lépine entered the L’ École Polytechnique, in Montreal, Quebec, separated the men from the women, declared his hatred for feminists and killed 14 women.

It breaks my heart, that these mothers, daughters, wives, sisters and lovers were killed or raped, destroyed.. before they could live their life. No one deserves that.

