All the yelling for an update has brought me back here to this page once again. I did spend an hour last week writing an entire post that disappeared when I tried to publish it, which made me very mad and not motivated to write another one for a while.

But here I am. And this time, nothing better go wrong.

Its been over a month since I’ve blogged and there have been several reasons for that; one of them being my sudden inability to stay up past midnight. (my brother has a strange internet plan, only use-able between 12 am and 8 am) Most nights I was asleep by 10 and waking up at 4 or 5 am and then forcing myself to go back to sleep. Is this a good thing? I don’t know yet. I have managed to push my bedtime to 12 after getting back to TO. Beyond that and I am exhausted. Getting old? Maybe.

The other reason for staying away was my trip itself. It was nothing like I expected and yet in so many ways it was. I was the only one on vacation which meant that I spent a lot of time at home with my mom. (who was psyched that she finally had someone to talk to… she would wake up at 4 am and just start talking to me while I was asleep, until I was forced to wake up) All that free time got me thinking about my life and where I’m at and I thought it was a little too personal to share on a blog. I didn’t get a chance to do everything that I would’ve liked. I thought we could make a trip as a family across the Worli Sea Link or drive up to town but again, we don’t do any family trips unless there are other family members or family friends willing to spend that time with us. Can’t break old habits I guess. I did get to hang out with some of my friends from college, two of them to be exact, which was fun and total girl time which I LOVED! Talking about psychology, love, the crazies in our lives, reminiscing about the past and pondering over the future. I didn’t get as much time as I’d have liked with the Borivali bunch and although we did spend much of the little time we had watching Youtube videos, I still had some great homemade vegetarian pizza, a good time laughing and recounting inappropriate stories. Sheila and Oscar were the only two people that I met often, (Oscar works in Andheri and Sheila is not working or studying full time at present) and it was great, we talked and laughed and ate and questioned Oscar on certain very important decisions in his life. Sheila and I are celebrating our 10 year anniversary and strange as that may sound, I do not have any other friends that I have known that long AND am that close to, so all this time with her was sweet. 🙂

My favorite part of this trip was Church. I only had about three Sundays and I tried to take in everything that was happening. I was fascinated at the growth and the passion in the new members. God was really moving and working in the lives of these people and although it made me sadder as the weeks to my departure grew closer, I was so blessed to have another opportunity to witness the amazing power of God.

My flight back was very… different. Our car was hit by a truck on my way to the airport and there were some other incidents at the airport that I would rather not think about but on my flight to Toronto from Zurich, my seat was taken by an older gentlemen and instead of asking him to move, they gave me his seat, which found me next to the same person who was sitting next to me on my B’bay to Zurich flight. We didn’t speak to each other throughout the flight and about an hour before we landed in Toronto, we got to talking and I found out that he had been working for a year with an NGO in India that I had wanted to be a part of for ages. Its called the International Justice Mission (I know it sounds like a cool name for a bunch of superheroes) and they work in rescuing minors and women who have been forced into prostitution by joining forces with the judicial forces in various cities and further assisting in their rehabilitation once they have been rescued. He also told me that they are always looking for counselors which almost made me jump up from my chair and dance around the airplane.. but don’t worry, I stopped myself in time. But omg!! If that other guy hadn’t been sitting in my seat then this would’ve never happened. I have some hope of going back to India and working there as I have always dreamed. I still don’t know the whens or the hows or wheres but that’s alright. It’ll all come together in the end. It always does.

And I’m back at school.. it’s been two weeks and I have missed learning about women and oppression and doing an intersectional analysis of everything in my life. Some of my courses this year promise to be difficult and interesting at the same time. Working with the survivors of Sexual Violence, I think will be one of my favorite classes this semester and it will be require that I put aside my own thoughts and feelings related to this topic and hard as that might be, I know that it will be worth it in the end.

Seeing my friends and classmates after 5 months was incredible. Its great to know that you can just pick up where you left off with some people and there’s no stress or drama in these relationships. Such a relief. And then there are others. But that’s a rant for another day.

I’m reading again, 3 books at a time actually – The book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill, Lucky by Alice Sebold and City of Glass, the final book in a trilogy by Cassandra Clare (Vampires and werewolves constitute as light reading after the other two)

Grey’s Anatomy season premiere is in 3 days and I cannot wait. Not having a TV sucks but I will stay offline and away from the phone until Friday when I can watch it online. I will survive.

That has been my last month. Maybe I should do one post a month.

taking it one day at a time,
Enit

