So, I’m looking at the pictures that Sheila put up of her apartment just before she moved out. And I seem to understand how hard it is for her. How you want to hold onto everything. Every memory.
Every laugh, every tear in that place. Moving is so hard. But it has to be done. A new place can be so difficult to get used to.

It was like that for me when I left home at 13 to move to this crazy city. I was scared and excited all at the same time. I remember going to my neighbor’s house and leaving all the books and comics I wasn’t allowed to take back. The sun hadn’t come up yet. Looked back at the house I called home for the last 10-11 years. Every friend I had made was here. Every fight, every fall… all here. I learnt to swim here. I *almost* learnt to ride a bike here. I even played a little cricket. 😀  

People ask me whether I like Saudi more or India. It seems to be a favorite question with people.
Over the years, I’ve learnt to say what people want to hear. Just keeps them quiet for awhile. Better that way. But I don’t know.

Today, Saudi has nothing for me. Dad lives an hour away from where I was brought up. All my friends are either in India or the US. There’s no one. And yet… in a strange way… It’s still home.

And now, I’m getting ready to move again. A new place… just as I was about to sit back and relax.
Thank you for offering to come help me set up Sheila. I’m sure I’ll need all the help I can get!

Moving… again.

