The Israelites considered the name too holy to be spoken by Human lips. Whenever they needed to say Yahweh, they substituted the word ‘Adonai’ which means “Lord”. If the name needed to written, the scribes would take a bath before they wrote it and destroy the pen afterward.God never gives a definition of the word Yahweh and Moses never asked for one. Many scholars wish he had, for the study of the name has raised some healthy discussions.

The name “I AM” sounds strikingly close to the Hebrew word “to be” –havah. It’s quite possibly a combination of the present tense form (I AM) and the causative tense (I cause to be). Yahweh then seems to mean “I AM” and “I Cause”. God is the “One who is’ and the “One who causes”.

Why is that important? Because w need a big God. And if God is the “One who is”, then He is an unchanging God.

Think about it. Do you know anyone who goes around saying “I am”? Neither do I. Whenever we say “I am” we always add another word. “I am happy,” “I am sad”, “I am strong”. God however starkly states, “I AM” and adds nothing else.

”You are what?” we want to ask. “I AM” he replies. God needs no descriptive word because he never changes. God is what He is. He is what he has always been. His immutability motivated the psalmist to declare “ But you never change” (Psalm 102:27) The writer is saying, “You are the One who is. You never change.” Yahweh is an unchanging God.

Traveling Light 

Max Lucado

