Archive for March 6, 2007


Lessons to learn

Quite overwhelmed by what’s been happening recently.. Its left me in a strange state.. There are times when im so happy that no one would notice a thing. But inside, I feel a  huge weight, a sense of guilt for some reason.. But thru it all I’ve found that God really does give rest to his beloved.
Don’t worry. Its not about the weight thing. Last thing on my mind right now! 😀
I feel like my life’s turning into a big question and I need to find answers.. except that God doesnt always answer the way I expect him to.. There’s a lot of uncertainty on the road ahead, a lot of dark corners, a lot of doors. So, Im still praying.
Im slowly learning to value God’s word because He has been speaking to me in a very special way. Again, not necessarily the way I want to. He’s teaching me simple yet powerful lessons like picking up the Bible when im low instead of picking up the phone. He’s teaching me to wait for everything.. A very hard lesson coz’ all my life I got everything I wanted.. really fast. I had to have it immediately or else I would bring the house down. My dear parents did set limits sometimes and at as i lay in bed that night.. My childish mind would think thoughts of revenge. But now, He’s teaching me that Waiting for something is good. Even if its something you really want. Even if its meant for you. Wait!
So apart from being on an emotional rollercoaster.. Its a good time… I know its in times like these that He really builds Character. So, Im holding on and Im not letting go.. no matter what!

In 1980 a young man from Rwanda was forced by his tribe to either renounce Christ or face certain death. He refused to renounce Christ, and he was killed on the spot. The night before he had written the following commitment which was found in his room:

“I’m part of the fellowship of the unashamed, the die has been cast, I have stepped over the line, the decision has been made- I’m a disciple of Jesus Christ. I won’t look back, let up, slow down, back away or be still.

My past is redeemed, my present makes sense, my future is secure. I’m finished and done with low living, sight walking, smooth knees, colorless dreams, tamed vision, worldly talking, cheap giving & dwarfed goals.

My face is set, my gait is fast, my goal is heaven, my road is narrow, my way is rough, my companions are few, my guide is reliable, my mission is clear. I won’t give up, shut up, let up until I have stayed up, stored up, prayed up for the cause of Jesus Christ.

I must go till He comes, give till I drop, preach till everyone knows, work till He stops me & when He comes for His own, He will have no trouble recognizing me because my banner will have been clear.”

A promise

The Righteous will flourish like a palm tree,
   they will grow like the cedar of Lebanon;
planted in the house of the Lord,
   they will flourish in the courts of God.
They will still bear fruit in old age,
   they will stay fresh and green,
proclaiming, “The Lord is upright;
   he is my Rock, and there is no wickedness
         in Him.”


-Psalms 92:12-15

Grace

Tis’ grace that brought me safe thus far,
And grace will lead me home