Death creeps in quietly, like a thief. Unexpected.. Unwanted.

Last night I was watching a video of a funeral. I cried a lot and prayed for the family because they were so special and important to me. I went to sleep around 4:30 a.m.
I woke up because of a phone call. I had no idea what time it was. It was Mansa’s dad. He’s here from Saudi for a really short holiday. While i was speaking to him, I kept wondering why he was speaking to me in such hushed tones. Then he said… “Sometimes God lets certain things happen. He has his perfect time.remember that he’s with you. Your uncle passed away yesterday. Your dad didnt tell you last night because we didnt want to hurt you or upset you. He called me at 12 last night and aked me to come with you to meet the family. Dont worry about anything.. Everything will be fine.”

I sat there listening. I could hear him but nothing he was saying  made sense. My uncle.. How can He die? He was perfectly fine. I met him just less than a week ago. How could he die?
It was 6:45 a.m. i had been asleep for only about three hours. Maybe thats why I didn’t believe what he was saying.
15 minutes later, I realised what he was saying was probably true. Why could he call me before 7 a.m to make up a horrible story like that? 
I cried and cried. I couldnt help it. The night before i had been crying for a friend and was feeling so sorry for them. But now it was in my own family. What do i tell them? How do I comfort them? What could i say that could make things any better?
My Mom’s younger brother.. her only brother. He was only a week away from his 47th birthday. He has a wife and a 19 year old son Neil. He has been working in saudi for the past 4 or 5 years. He hasn’t seen his family in over a year.
Now he’s gone. They found him dead in the bathroom. Heart attack. the last time I met him I remember him saying that his job was really stressful. 15 hours with only a 45 minute lunch break.

I hadn’t spoken to Neil in over a year. I was too busy. I called him this morning. I didnt know what to say. He asked me to come home because he wanted to see me and Justin.
When we got to his place, his house was packed with people from his church. He walked up to me and all I did was hug him and for the first time in my life I saw Neil cry. I couldnt bear to look at him. What could I tell him? here he was, my dear little brother without his father, alone, left to support himself and his family. All I could do was stand by him and pray for him.

I dont know why people have to die. I often thought of what would hapen to me if either one of my parents ever died. All i know is of a God who loved me so much that he gave his Son for me and I know that God will take care of me and Neil.

A special thankyou to Eben, who comforted me and prayed for me throughtout this entire ordeal. You are such a blessing to me. You’ve always been there and so often i forget to be grateful. You’ve believed in me and you never thought I was crazy for some of the things i have said or done. Thankyou little bro for being there.

Thankyou God for giving me the grace to go through this day. It was hard but you were there.

